The mysterious and secret chakra of ancient Jyotish


The Sarvatobhadra-chakra
The Construction methodology of Sarvatobhadra Chakra


Financial Astrology


Contact us

About us



W.D. Gann

The legendry astro-trader who used Sarvatobhadra chakra as "Square of Nine".


Sarvatobhadra Chakra is drawn in a rectangle divided 9x9 = 81 sections and the counting is clockwise starting from the auspicious north-east corner the right-hand-top side and called the Ishana kona (also in use is SBC drawn by starting from left-hand-top side). The outer square or ring of 32 boxes depicts 28 nakshatras (7x7) with the four corners remaining allotted to four vowels, the immediately inner two rings – the aksharas i.e. vowels and consonants where the first swara or akshara of name is to be placed, the next inner ring – the signs and the inner-most - the week-days. In this manner the Chakra will cover 28 sections or vargas pertaining to the nakshatras, 12 to signs, 5 to tithis/weekdays, 16 to vowels and 20 to consonants – total 81 vargas. Its use involves the concept of Vedha. In this method the nakshatras aspect each other i.e. the nakshatra directly in opposite direction and the nakshatra which is to the left and the right. These 28 nakshatras also represent the Sapta Nadis.

Vedha, meaning – Obstruction, is the power of a planet to influence favourably (by benefic planets) or unfavourably through obstruction (by malefic planets), the influence is stronger when the planets influenced and influencing are exalted or retrograde but weaker if they be debilitated; a favourable vedha can nullify an adverse vedha.

The planets in direct motion at normal speed possess the front-vedha (or opposite-vedha) aspect, at accelerated motion the left–vedha and in retrograde motion – the backward–vedha (relative to their normal direction of movement). The Sun and the two lunar nodes have fixed front–vedha and vedha to the right and the left.

I have been working on a very comprehensive software for "Sarvatobhadra-Chakra" calculations for last 25 yrs, since year 1996. It can decide applicable vedhas, of various planets on various components of SBC (the "Panchakas"), depending upon their speed and direction of motion. It can also decide "Swara", "Tithi", "Nakshatra", "Rasi" just by choosing the appropriate Varna/ consonant of "Naamakshara". It also considers the "Ek-paad drishti" / "Do-paad drishti" etc. of various planets on various components. To exactly quantify the results, thus achieved, it also considers planet's exaltation, dignity etc.

This software is for Shyam's personal use only. It's copies are not sold.